Polls opening for annual accolades!

9 months ago By David Watters

Preparations are getting underway for the Northern Premier League's 2018 Players of the Year Awards!

Unique in the top levels of Non-League football with the focus on the players, the stars of the historic 2017-18 50th anniversary season are set to be unveiled at the seventh annual awards in April after being chosen over the coming months by the EVO-STIK League's managers and fans.

Voting forms to choose a 'Player of the Year' and 'Young Player of Year' in each division, along with eleven more in three 'Teams of the Year', are set to go out any day to the managment teams at the EVO-STIK League's 68 clubs before thousands of votes are cast in the now annual public poll in February and March for the coveted EVO-STIK NPL Show's 'Fans' Player of the Year' honour.

World Cup referee Howard Webb handed out the inaugural accolades at the four star Brooklands Holiday Inn near Barnsley in 2012 and another big name from the game is set to be unveiled in the coming weeks as 2018 host after Welsh legend Dean Saunders presented last season's awards at the venue, pictured.

The playing legends from the last five decades who are set to be included the new book charting the competition's history after being chosen by fans, players and officials in the online NPL50 poll before Christmas are also set to announced on the night while the EVO-STIK NPL’s next generation of stars from the NPL Football Academy will also be honoured on stage for the third season running.

For more information and the latest news on the awards, the brainchild of former Manchester City keeper and NPL stalwart Alan Ogley, follow the EVO-STIK League's social media channels.

Images courtesy of Graham Lindley

Follow us: @evostikleague on Twitter | Facebook www.facebook.com/evostikleague

Where next?

FA to more than double cup cash! The Football Association is set to more than double the amount of prize money available in the Emirates FA Cup next season after announcing a series of new initiatives and multi-million pound investments to impact English football.
Ashforth confirmed as new manager Ossett Town chairman James Rogers is backing Lee Ashforth to bring stability to the EVO-STIK League club after naming the former Harrogate Railway boss as the successor to Grant Black.

Latest photos

Chasetown (A) by John Driscoll
55 photos
Mossley Away 20/10/18
87 photos
Mossley Away 20/10/18

The Evo-Stik League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.