Nominate your community kings!

1 year ago By David Watters

The countdown has started to crowning the EVO-STIK Northern Premier League's 2016-17 Community Club of the Year!

After EVO-STIK NPL play-off winners Farsley Celtic collected last season's inaugural accolade to reward the most community driven club among the EVO-STIK NPL's 68 members, the nominations to unveil their successors in 2017 at June's annual award night in Blackpool officially got underway on Wednesday.

Like Farsley Celtic's proud chairman Joshua Greaves, pictured with other officials collecting The Peter Swales Trophy on stage at the Blackpool Hilton Hotel last June, this season's winners will also take home a permanent memento after fans, volunteers and officials send in their nominations for the now annual accolade ahead of a 5pm deadline on Friday 26 May.

Urging clubs and their fans to shout about their success by entering, EVO-STIK NPL secretary Angie Firth said: "If you believe your club is at the heart of your community then let us know what you do and how well you do it!"

The criteria and rules to enter and collect the prestigious trophy at the EVO-STIK NPL's 2016-17 awards night on Saturday 17 June is simple.

As well as working at the heart of their communities, winners must provide opportunities for players irrespective of age, gender, religion or ability.

Clubs must also provide qualified coaches, first aiders and child protection officers and be FA Charter Standard while nominations should be made in writing and include any supporting photographs, newspaper articles or other material where available.

As a guide, judges are looking for answers to questions similar to those listed below.
How many teams /coaching sessions do you run?
What age groups are catered for?
Are your coaches qualified and to what level?
Do you engage with any disability groups?
Are there opportunities for boys and girls?
How does your club make its facilities available to the wider community?
Has the club won any 'Community Club' awards in the past 12 months?
Has any club officer/volunteer been recognised by their county FA by receiving one of their volunteer or community awards?

To enter today email EVO-STIK NPL secretary Angie Firth at:

Images courtesy of Rob Lock

Follow us: @evostikleague on Twitter | Facebook

Where next?

City are still winning the right way Lancaster City are in the running to help the EVO-STIK Northern Premier League carry on dominating the Football Association's annual Respect Awards after being unveiled as the league's best behaved side over the 2016-17 season.
Online party is still going strong! Spennymoor Town fans haven't been holding back on social media from sharing their favourite pictures and memories of the club's historic win in the EVO-STIK Northern Premier League's promotion play-off final.

The Evo-Stik League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.