i2i Stadium Ings Lane Tadcaster North Yorkshire LS24 9AY
01904 606000


Matthew Gore
Match secretary:
Howard Clarke
Programme editor:
Michael Morton


The club is believed to have been formed in 1892 as
John Smith’s FC. It wasn’t until 1923 that the Tadcaster
Albion AFC name was adopted. In the early years the
club played in the local York League. In 1948 Albion
won the York League. They continued competing in the
York League during the 1950’s & 60’s.
Tadcaster Albion, in the early days, played home games
on the site of the cricket ground on Station Road,
before moving to the Ings ground, near to where the
present Samuel Smith Brewery Packaging Block now

Changing facilities were in the town, at the rear of the
Falcon Public House on Chapel Street, and it was a
common Saturday afternoon sight to see nets, corner
flags, buckets, oranges, players and officials trekking
through the town.
Down the years the club has played in several leagues.
In early times, Barkston Ash and later still the Yorkshire
and Northern Counties East Leagues.
Football continued on the Ings ground until 1960,
when the club moved 100 yards up river to its present
home at the Park.
In 1973 the club joined the Yorkshire League Division 3
and were promoted in 1975 & 1977 to reach Division 1,
relegation was to follow in 1979 & 1980.
In 1982/83 they became a founding member of the
Northern Counties East League, originally in the NCEL
Division Two North before league reorganisations led
them to Division One in 1991. They rarely finish in the
top half of the league in the 1990’s and finished bottom
in 2001/02 & 2003/04.
At the start of 2004/05, Jim Collis became manager
and at this point fortunes on the pitch started to
improve dramatically. In his first season, Albion finished
5th in the league, the following year a 3rd place finish
meant promotion was missed by one point.
Jimmy Reid took over as manager in 2006, but his time
was blighted by off the field problems. An attempted
hostile takeover by dissident committee members took
a massive amount of money to fight. Then in Nov 2007,
an attempted arson attack on the clubhouse caused a
lot of damage.
Paul Marshall took over at the start of 2008/09, in
his first season he played mostly local players and the
team struggled and finished 17th.
In 2009/10, with an influx of a few new key players,
Albion won the NCEL Division One title.
In 2010, Rob Northfield, took over as Chairman of
Tadcaster Albion (2010) Ltd, and the club became a
company limited by guarantee.
Albion finished fourth in their first season in the NCEL
Premier Division and won the NCEL President’s Cup,
beating Farsley AFC 5-1 in the final. That was followed
by an 8th place finish in 2011/12 and 6th in 2012/13.
In the 2013/14 season Rob Northfield resigned a few
days before the start of the season and i2i Sports Ltd
agreed to take effective control of the club and
company, with Matthew Gore becoming the new
In 2014/2015 the Brewers lead the NCEL Premier for
most of the season, but a poor run of games in March
led to them finally finishing in third.
An excellent run in the FA Vase saw them make
history by making it through to the Quarter Final of the
FA Vase where they drew a record breaking crowd of
1,307, but were narrowly beaten by Highworth Town.
At the end of the season, the club opted not to renew
their contract with manager Paul Marshall, and two
weeks later former Harrogate Railway boss Billy Miller
was unveiled as the club’s new manager.
In 2015/2016 the Brewers lead the NCEL Premier for
most of the season once again, but this time they held
their nerve and finished Champions with a 2-1 home
win over Armthorpe Welfare.
They also made it to the League Cup Final, but were
beaten in a thrilling 3-2 game against Cleethorpes
In 2016/2017 the Brewers will start their first ever
season in the Evo-Stik First Division North. With a mix
of old and new players Billy is back in his old stomping
ground and his experience and knowledge of this
division will come in handy to help TAD have a great
first season.
CEL Division 1 Champions
NCEL President’s Cup - Winners
PROSTAR Cup - Winners
2010-2011 & 2011-2012
NCEL Premier Division Champions
NCEL League Cup - Runners Up

Upcoming Fixtures

Sat 12 Aug
Tue 15 Aug
Sat 26 Aug

The Evo-Stik League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.